View Poll Results: What system is best for hobby scraper?

Voters
13. You may not vote on this poll
  • oxy/acetylene

7 53.85%
  • oxy/gasoline

0 0%
  • saw or other

6 46.15%

Getting Started/ Oxy-gasoline torch

| Tools and Equipment
    Reobert Stenger started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Getting Started/ Oxy-gasoline torch

Hey, I have never done any scrap work before but am looking to do some part time this summer. I was wondering if anyone has used or heard much about the gasoline torch system rather than acetylene everything i can find is positive except the higher starting price?

I will be scrapping mostly old farm equipment, a few vehicles, trailer frames, and some appliances.

What would be the best tool for the job?

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    oxy propane, cheaper than acetylene,

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    but acetylene will cut easier as it burns hotter, thus cleaner cuts and capability of cutting thicker metals

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    have you ever run a torch? I should have said, take a weekend quick course, don't really want people blowing themselves up now, it's easy to run them, and easy to run them wrong and have a major catastrophe on your hands. And watching youtube videos is not acceptable as training, half of these wieners have never had any formal training.

5. The Following 2 Users say Thank You for This Post by MilitiaMetals:

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 1,182 Times in 518 Posts
    oxy/acetylene burns hotter an works faster.

Acetylene bottle can last a very long time. You don't need much for it to work good but with propane you need a higher gas amount in the long run.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 6,807 Times in 1,954 Posts
    The thread said hobby scrppers soooo, $25 for a grinder vs $200 for torch set up ?