Please help!

| Scrap Metal Questions and Answers
    Researcher01 started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Please help!

I am a marketing researcher for a plasma cutting equipment manufacturer and I have some industry related questions that I would like to have answered. We are always looking for ideas for new plasma cutting equipment, so whatever you can tell me about your business, I'm all ears! I am looking for your expertise! Please help!

Question 1: Do you use plasma for cutting metal in your yard? If not, what do you use instead? If you do use plasma, when do you use your plasma cutter (how often do you use it)?

Question 2: Is there a shift away from oxy fuel cutting and plasma cutting (torching in general) in scrap yards these days?

Questions 3: Would you purchase alligator shears over a plasma system (assuming they are the same price)? If so/if not, why?

Kris Kringle
    Oxygen/Gasoline system

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Kris Kringle for This Post:

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    First off... I would like to say thanks for being honost about who you are and why your here... We appriciate honosty...

as for cutting:

I am a home based scrapper... I don't have any cutting tools at home outside a grinder, sawzall, and chop saw... would prefer to have both torch and plazma tho for various reasons... I like to build and fix things....

At my work we have both.... Plazma is nice for repetative cutting and no-wait heating... pull the trigger and you are cutting

The torch is nice because it's portable and not dependant on a power and compressed air supply.

for the record, our plazma is a hypotherm 1000

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Destructo_d for This Post:

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    First off... I would like to say thanks for being honest about who you are, and why your here... We appreciate honesty...