Hello from Kew Gardens, Queens...

| Introduce yourself
    sprue started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Hello from Kew Gardens, Queens...

Hello,

My name is Fernando and I'm very new to scrapping. I kind of fell into this situation recently. My father-in-law was a contractor / handyman. Over the last two decades, he managed to accumulate a garage and backyard full of "stuff". As you can imagine, this distressed my mother-in-law to no end. It had gotten so bad that their neighbors put up fences years ago to avoid having to look at the "stuff". I suspect he had a bit of a hoarding issue when it came to construction materials. Whenever he did any work, he'd save everything....scraps, cut-offs, the old parts...everything. Anyway...after a long illness, he passed away at the age of 84. So my wife and I and her two sisters started the process of cleaning out the "stuff". We all recognized that buried along with the junk...there were many things and materials that had value. I started to research how to scrap metals and materials. Little by little...we worked our way through the mountains of materials as we carefully separated the "junk" from the "jewels". In the process...I've discovered the whole scrapping experience. Now...I can't pass a garbage heap without glancing over and wondering what treasures might lurk within. I'm interested in learning more about scrapping electronics and computers and learning from the experiences of others....

Thanks in advance...

SMF Badges of Honor

Warsaw , Ind. In the heart of the lakes, and down the street from the hotel where Al Capone stayed.
    Thanks
    Thanked 10,730 Times in 4,728 Posts
    Now...I can't pass a garbage heap without glancing over and wondering what treasures might lurk within. I'm interested in learning more about scrapping electronics and computers and learning from the experiences of others....
    Well then you came to the right place, this is what we call Scrap Metal University.