drewan started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

For the newer folks like me WHAT EVER YOU DO, DON'T TURN IT DOWN !

***** DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A PRO BY NO MEANS *****
    I have been thinking about this for awhile and thought I'd share this with the newer folks like me. If you get asked or called for a pick up do it no matter how small. My first was some alum a saw blade and some other little things most people would say it's not worth my time/gas to drive a half hour for it not me why because it all adds up. I noticed I started getting more calls from the same areas it may be a stove or microwave a computer monitor it all adds up. Be on time if you set up a time be there just like any other job be on time your time and their time is valuable they may have other things to do and don't want to wait around for you (NOT GOOD) you loose a customer and 10 others. Be prepared some of the pick ups I get I'm by myself for a frige or stove my dolly comes into play nothing makes you look more foolish then trying to wrestle a 100+ pound frige or stove out of a house basement or yard messing up floors doorway and yards trying to haul it to your truck or trailer I always have my dolly with.
    Don't leave a mess especially if you are curb shopping nothing makes you look like more of a jerk then to go and rip through a bunch of stuff to get some steel and walk a way leaving a mess put it back no matter what it is.
    Talk to the people for a little bit a lot of pick ups I do are "I'll have it by my garage just stop by and pick it up" that's fine by me they have things to do and so do I. Others will be out there with you and want to B.S. some of the folks that want to talk to ya are the older one's that don't get many visitors or see there family a little small talk doesn't hurt it can only get you further.
    I know I've missed somethings and others will chime in and that would be great.

2. The Following 15 Users say Thank You for This Post by drewan: